Co.Down TT Championships

champs poster

With just over a week to go, the countdown is on to one of the most anticipated events on the TT calendar, the County Down Championships. Next week sees the fifth event on the VC Iveagh Race League take place on the fast A2 carriageway between Warrenpoint and Newry.

With four events already behind us, both our VC Iveagh and Visitors leagues are taking shape and things are certainly hotting up. However, the County Down Champs is also a standalone event with the winning rider gaining the accolade of being the official County Down Time Trail Champion. This is the second year running that VC Iveagh have had the honor of hosting the ‘Champs’ and we are hoping for another fantastic turn out. Last year’s winning time was set by the impressive Niall Clarke (CuChullian CC) coming in at 21:10 in the men’s category. The female title was taken by Karen Hull (Phoenix CC) with a time of 24:56.  The Warrenpoint/Newry road is seen as one of the quickest roads in the North and we certainly had some amazing times last year including an official record set in the form of hand cyclist Declan Slevin (Rosemount CC).

This TT is a continuation of our new partnership with Rice’s Hotel who shall be sponsoring the 2016 VC Iveagh RACE LEAGUE, not only are we running an internal club league but we have also introduced a visitors league. The visitors league is open to any rider from any club, simply compete in over 50% of our races throughout the season for a chance to win a meal for two in Rice’s Hotel, all details can be found in our Sponsorship Announcement post.

Full details of the event can be found below:

County Down Open Time Trial (10 Mile) Championships 28th May 2016.
This event is open to all cyclists holding a minimum of a limited Competition Cycling Ireland licence.  Only members of a Co.Down club or those with a permanent address in Co.Down will be eligible for the championship prize. (Please note that eligibility will be based on information printed on CI licences)  
There will also be a prize on the day for the fastest Male and Female outside of the criteria.
There will be seven Categories: A1, A2, A3, A4, Juniors, Vets 50+, and Ladies.
Prizes for the fastest in each Category and overall County Down Man and Lady.
(Excluding category overall champion comes from)
The key details are:-
Sign on at the Car Park next to the Original Factory Shop, Newry Road, Warrenpoint, County Down, BT34 3LD.Sign-on opens at 8:45am and closes at 9.45am – First Rider away at 10:00am.  Start time will be as registration on Entrycentral.

Entry fee £10 with Entry Central or £12 on the day.

All riders are asked to be at the start line at 55 Newry Road, Warrenpoint Road, BT34 3LD next to the Original Factory Shop.
Please email Simon Keery or mobile 07791048705 with any questions.
-All riders must have a minimum of a 2016 Cycling Ireland Limited Competition licence.
-All riders must have a working rear light.
-Riders must adhere to the “Costumes and Identification” rules stipulated in the 2016 Cycling Ireland handbook in reference to allowed clothing (Page 29)  (
-No warming up on the course section of the road post start time.
-No drafting.
-No “White Lining”.
-No littering (gel wrappers etc).
-Treat others as you would expect to be treated yourself.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.