Rathfriland Road 2UP TT

April saw the start of VC Iveagh’s RACE LEAGUE calendar with a 2UP time trial on the Rathfriland Road, Banbridge. 2UP’s are a traditional and entertaining way to get the season kicked off and although it is certainly competitive it’s mainly viewed as a season opener with the majority of the guys not taking the event just as seriously as the actual club races and individual TT’s. With a strong group of 26 riders in attendance from nine different clubs including a few solo riders, it was a great night even though the elements were seemingly conspiring against us. However as the riders rolled up to the start line the skies cleared and miraculously we had a dry race.

rl sponsorship banner

Kicking off proceeding were two new members of VC Iveagh, Jonathan Burns and Stephen Pepper. Only having taken up cycling in recent months, they were determined to give racing a go and this was very much a baptism of fire. The two guys certainly didn’t shame themselves with an excellent 31:38 time; well done lads a great base level has now been set. Proceedings then continued with each riding partnership in turn rolling up to take their place, the only blip was when Neil ’Bosty’ Boston decided to take his warm up to a whole new level and missed his time slot but with Louise and Alan on the clocks we rode the storm and got things back on track.


This TT was also the official start of our new partnership with Rice’s Hotel who shall be sponsoring the 2016 VC Iveagh RACE LEAGUE, not only are we running an internal club league but we have also introduced a visitors league. The visitors league is open to any rider from any club, simply compete in over 50% of our races throughout the season for a chance to win a meal for two in Rice’s Hotel, all details can be found in our Sponsorship Announcement post.

A special mention has to go the both the visiting clubs and overall race winners, so thank you to the following clubs:

Phoenix CC
Maryland Wheelers
Dromara CC
Keevan CC
West Down Wheelers

The overall winners on the night were the ever present Tim Beattie (TVR) and Mark Short (Phoenix CC) with a winning time of 24:27, well done lads, that was a really great performance in some testing conditions, we hope to see you both at are upcoming events.


So it’s now onward and upwards to our next event, a 10 mile individual TT on the Castlewellan Road, Banbridge on Thursday the 21st April. We hope to have a very special guest rider on the evening, none other than recent Ras Mumhan race winner Chris ‘Kipper’ McGlinchey, Kipper is coming along not only to show his support to VC Iveagh but also to put his TT skills to the test on his new Vitus Chrono on the tricky TT course.

Below are last nights results and the internal and external Race Leagues:

Club Race League 7 April 16 Total
Gordon Brown 20 20
Scott Daly 20 20
Mervyn McKeown 19 19
Ronnie Massey 19 19
Jonathan Burns 18 18
Stephen Pepper 18 18
Ryan Harshaw 17 17
Mark Johnston 17 17
Neil Boston 16 16
Brian Halliday 16 16
Simon Keery 15 15
Neil Seffen 15 15
Davey Cartmill 14 14
Paul Rice 14 14
Russ Deuchar 5 5
John Davison 5 5
Ivan McConville 5 5
Dean McDowell 5 5
Alan Priestly 5 5
Visitor Race League 7 April 16  Total
Tim Beattie TVR 20 20
Mark Short  Phoenix 20 20
John Clyde  WDW 19 19
Trevor Wright DCC 19 19
Mark Casey  TVR 18 18
Stevie Bucannon 18 18
Darren Cusack M’land 17 17
Colin McKee M’land 17 17
Richard Yarr  SMCC 16 16
ColinAbernethy SMCC 16 16

10 Mile 2UP TTT : Rathfriland RD

Club Race Results

Name Target Actual Difference Position Points
Gordon BrownScott Daly 26:48 25:40 -1:08 1 20
Ronnie MasseyMeryvn McKeown 27:38 26:43 -0:55 2 19
Stephen PyperJonathan Burns 32:00 31:38 -0:22 3 18
Mark JohnstonRyan Harshaw 28:00 27:43 -0:19 4 17
Brian HallidayNeil Boston 29:50 29:32 -0:18 5 16
Neil SeffenSimon Keery 25:02 25:21 +0:19 6 15
Davey CartmillPaul Rice 26:48 27:50 +1:02 7 14

Visitor Race Results

Name Target Actual Difference Position Points
Tim Beattie TVRMark Short Phoenix NA 24:27 NA 1 20
John Clyde WDWTrevor Wright DCC NA 25:43 NA 2 19
Mark Casey TVRStephen Buchannon TVR NA 26:49 NA 3 18
Darren Cusack MarylandColin Mckee Maryland NA 27:53 NA 4 17
Richard Yarr SMCCColin Abernethy SMCC NA 29:18 NA 5 16

4 thoughts on “Rathfriland Road 2UP TT

  1. Congratulations to Tim Beattie and Mark Short for fastest actual time on the night, but equally to the Clubs winners Gordon Brown and Scott Daly, whom made up a partnership at the very last minute. A fine time of 25.40

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks to all at VC Iveagh especially the timekeepers and marshals for standing out on a cold and wet night. Well done to all the fast guys, some impressive times!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.